When I Pretend to Fall

This is our second record. It’s made of downtown right as the sun comes out after it’s been raining and a little bit of three a.m. city bus in from the airport. There are several big fights between people who love each other that end with both people breaking into song and someone in a tee-shirt with rolled-up sleeves playing a sax solo. Also, there are friends coming to the rescue and there are other friends who don’t want to be rescued and there are a few friends that do want to be rescued but don’t want to have to ask.

When I Pretend to Fall cover image

1. Blue Diamonds
2. Scared Straight
3. Shapes
4. Cinnamon
5. Bride and Bridle
6. Blanket Hog
7. It’ll Be a Breeze
8. Stupid
9. Prom Night at Hater High
10. New Girl
11. The Sound of Coming Down
12. Nora

Released May 6, 2003
cd: Barsuk Records – BARK31
lp: The Control Group – TCG035

» Order this record now

Produced and Mixed by John Roderick, Ken Stringfellow, Chris Walla, and Kip Beelman. Recorded at The Hall of Justice & The Soundhouse. Mastered by Ed Brooks at RFI, Seattle.

» Full credits and lyrics

John’s story:
I started writing the songs for the second record as soon as I got to New York.  Bride and Bridle, Sound of Coming Down, Stupid and Shapes all came pretty quickly as I lay on my bare mattress at 117th and 3rd in Spanish Harlem listening to car alarms in 110 degree heat.  I love New York and was filled with joy.  » Read more